What's going on..?!

Hello Guys!

News from Italy regarding this COVID-19 coronavirus.

Before beginning, let me say that despite what could appear from the outside, the Italian medical apparatus and the governing organs are doing a GREAT job and effort to isolate the expansion of the virus, putting in place truly brave measures…I am TRULY PROUD for the first time in my life of my Country, because they are really putting the people and the safety of their lives before everything else.

In this moment we are experiencing lockdowns of schools, Universities, religious and cultural sites like the Duomo di Milano or Duomo di Firenze….carpet checks in all the zones. All this to allow the health system, not to be flooded by too many cases, so to be able to handle them properly as they come little by little.

As far as I can see this is a very professional approach. 💪

Many Italians I know are disappointed by this, because for sure it makes life a bit harder but if you think about it, just knowing the fact that each infected person could pass on the virus minimum to other 5, then you understand it is crucial to isolate as much as we can the possibility of a big unbearable wave of cases.

This because as I was saying in the past record, to the average person it is just a flu, unless for a weak or an aged person. Even in that case, if the person is cured properly there are very good chance to be cured successfully. So, if we manage to keep the flux of infected people steady, the medical system is ready to absorb the impact.

At the moment we have more or less 400 confirmed cases throughout all the Country with 12 people who didn’t make it because their health was already compromised BEFORE getting in touch with this virus.

The feeling is that our closest Countries are not putting so many efforts as we are doing here in Italy to check up their population, otherwise it can’t be explained that much difference in confirmed cases in a such connected environment as Europe actually is. In latest hours both Germany and France are doing a bath of reality in this regard.

For all the rest, our lives are going on as usual. I am going regularly at work, I go out with my family…just taking some extra care.

The only thing I keep attention is not going into places where there are usually a lot of people.

This is a safety measure NOT for me myself but for my parents….like my father who suffers already from lung disease.

This I guess, is where common sense comes into play. I was discussing about this aspect just yesterday with a friend of mine, about going out for dinner on Saturday.

To me it is really no problem but I have to consider I’ll probably not going to see my father for a couple of weeks since the average incubation time is at least 14 days.

Is it enough just one person who got it (not knowing about it) into a restaurant to infect all the people inside? I don’t really know but why risk it?

Then it is a matter of subjective sensibility and lifestyle.

If I was a solitary nerd, my social life was just into the internet world and in 14 day I could just meet the postman, then…hey, where we are going…Chinese?!😁

If I was a fitness instructor or a teacher who potentially could pass on the virus to dozens of people in 2 weeks, just to get a dish of fish in my favorite restaurant, MAYBE it is better to delay the dinner for the moment and call the pizza guy if I am too lazy too cook.

So….everyone knows his own condition in life and should act upon it for his own safety with also an eye of regard to the people in his life.

I hope this advices will be useful for all of you one day….hoping you’ll be so lucky that you won’t be even in the need to put them in practice.

GOOD NEWS OF TODAY: A woman affected by COVID-19 gave life to a beautiful baby without any complication. The baby is negative to the virus test. ❤

Wish you the best.

Lancia☀️